DigitalEro Offline

Ken Levine's opinion on Elizabeth porn

Wed, 09 Oct 2013 07:33:02

giantkrill

Seriously, whoever is doing the Elizabeth porn on deviantart, please stop it. You’re killing me. It’s like coming across a picture of your daughter. I die a little inside with every page view.
http://www.gamesreviews.com/news/10/ken ... beth-porn/ Soooo...yeah. I highly doubt that's going to stop anyone here, but just throwing it out there.
Wed, 09 Oct 2013 08:39:00

Vitezislav

Awesome they are actually looking at it :)
Wed, 09 Oct 2013 15:18:23

Bilge Rat 16

Uh, am I the only one that thinks he's using a reverse psycology approach? :?
Wed, 09 Oct 2013 19:26:42

Ganonmaster

This is just hilarious. I suggest we make a ton more pictures, get them printed in a nice book, and send that book to Irrational Games. You know, as a "thank you" gesture from their fans.
Wed, 09 Oct 2013 19:31:55

kp0988

"Ganonmaster" said ...
This is just hilarious. I suggest we make a ton more pictures, get them printed in a nice book, and send that book to Irrational Games. You know, as a "thank you" gesture from their fans.
:P I agree with that wholeheartedly.
Wed, 09 Oct 2013 20:35:47

Brother Antroz

How dare he not enjoy seeing porn of a character he and his company spent so much time perfecting... :roll:
Wed, 09 Oct 2013 20:43:37

giantkrill

Apperentley he's seen DE's gifs of Elizabeth, it's mentioned in the reddit.
"Bilge Rat 16" said ...
Uh, am I the only one that thinks he's using a reverse psycology approach? :?
I believe it's called the "Streisand Effect". The more you try to tell people to stop looking at something, the more attention it ends up calling to it. It's the same reason why banning books will never work.
Wed, 09 Oct 2013 20:54:51

Ganonmaster

"Brother Antroz" said ...
How dare he not enjoy seeing porn of a character he and his company spent so much time perfecting... :roll:
He doesn't have to enjoy it. He just has to accept it. Asking people to stop is either a joke or a delusion.
Wed, 09 Oct 2013 22:34:01

DemonicLemon

Something tells me he once was going to have a daughter but can never see her due to having to give her up for adoption or because she died very young, and Elizabeth is what he expected her to look like if she grew up. That is my uneducated guess as to why he compared it to seeing a picture of your daughter.
Wed, 09 Oct 2013 23:18:03

Gilgamesh of Uruk

"Ganonmaster" said ...
"Brother Antroz" said ...
How dare he not enjoy seeing porn of a character he and his company spent so much time perfecting... :roll:
He doesn't have to enjoy it. He just has to accept it. Asking people to stop is either a joke or a delusion.
If you read it in context, he's pretty clearly joking, since the sentence right before that was essentially "there will be porn DLC". In the same interview he "reveals" that Dr. Robotnik will take the place of Andrew Ryan in Burial At Sea, and claims to own a ManBot waifu pillow. At minimum, he's serious about "I don't like the porn" but has no delusions that he can stop people. I wouldn't do more Elizabeth porn just to spite him (but I also wouldn't do less). If you do want to spite him, it's better to twist his "order" against him. Make porn of everyone else in the games - literally everyone. Booker+Comstock gay fucking, Lady Comstock zombie gangbang, Lutece twins twincest, Songbird tentacle rape, whatever else you can think of. Oh, and a tasteful and completely asexual render of Elizabeth. Send it to him with a note saying "Well, you didn't say any of these were off limits".
Wed, 09 Oct 2013 23:39:09

Ganonmaster

"Gilgamesh of Uruk" said ...
"Ganonmaster" said ...
"Brother Antroz" said ...
How dare he not enjoy seeing porn of a character he and his company spent so much time perfecting... :roll:
He doesn't have to enjoy it. He just has to accept it. Asking people to stop is either a joke or a delusion.
If you read it in context, he's pretty clearly joking, since the sentence right before that was essentially "there will be porn DLC". In the same interview he "reveals" that Dr. Robotnik will take the place of Andrew Ryan in Burial At Sea, and claims to own a ManBot waifu pillow. At minimum, he's serious about "I don't like the porn" but has no delusions that he can stop people. I wouldn't do more Elizabeth porn just to spite him (but I also wouldn't do less). If you do want to spite him, it's better to twist his "order" against him. Make porn of everyone else in the games - literally everyone. Booker+Comstock gay fucking, Lady Comstock zombie gangbang, Lutece twins twincest, Songbird tentacle rape, whatever else you can think of. Oh, and a tasteful and completely asexual render of Elizabeth. Send it to him with a note saying "Well, you didn't say any of these were off limits".
Thanks for this bit of context. I did not read the reddit thread, so that clears up most of it. I'm considering putting on a Bioshock themed contest, with some game prizes, so that's actually some really nice framing for it.
Wed, 09 Oct 2013 23:45:51

TheCaptainNeyo

"Gilgamesh of Uruk" said ...
Songbird tentacle rape
thats all got from that and That sounds very interesting :D
Thu, 10 Oct 2013 00:12:46

Soulslayerzx

this dude is a fuckin moron, he's like stawp it's like mah daughter and then he keeps on looking at bunch of liz porn. So he likes to look at his daughter nude i guess? LOL. what is he doing on the internet????
Thu, 10 Oct 2013 00:19:20

DemonicLemon

"Soulslayerzx" said ...
this dude is a fuckin moron, he's like stawp it's like mah daughter and then he keeps on looking at bunch of liz porn. So he likes to look at his daughter nude i guess? LOL. what is he doing on the internet????
At this point we think what he said was a joke given the earlier things he said.
Thu, 10 Oct 2013 00:25:28

Soulslayerzx

"DemonicLemon" said ...
"Soulslayerzx" said ...
this dude is a fuckin moron, he's like stawp it's like mah daughter and then he keeps on looking at bunch of liz porn. So he likes to look at his daughter nude i guess? LOL. what is he doing on the internet????
At this point we think what he said was a joke given the earlier things he said.
meh. i think he should've announced something in a more grateful tone like yea, there's some porn of liz on the internet and they do a good job. That way, public wouldnt have too much shit to say if he was fine with it too, like it's a game, get over it. Sure, this would be a smart sarcastic way if he admired the work of the liz porn animators here, but it's gonna bring a lot of shit to the brainwashed public sheep that will be like, people are making porn out of video game characters. damn fox news and america!!!! America is taking steps back while Japan is taking a great leap forward... Damn americans. Reason is i hope they dont do that new licensing crap they did with ff where their chars were protected from porn. :(
Thu, 10 Oct 2013 00:44:11

McKraken

He was joking, what's to get mad about? To the greater world, he's just some guy who does something with video games, nobody cares. And companies aren't going to "crack down" on porn of their characters because of the Streisand Effect: in short, the act of trying to stop the porn would just lead to an increased interest in finding and creating it, thus actually doing REAL damage to the public image of the characters, rather than just leaving it be in this dank, dark corner of the Internet. Nothing to get riled up about here.
Thu, 10 Oct 2013 01:58:48

Horsey

"Gilgamesh of Uruk" said ...
"Ganonmaster" said ...
"Brother Antroz" said ...
How dare he not enjoy seeing porn of a character he and his company spent so much time perfecting... :roll:
He doesn't have to enjoy it. He just has to accept it. Asking people to stop is either a joke or a delusion.
If you read it in context, he's pretty clearly joking, since the sentence right before that was essentially "there will be porn DLC". In the same interview he "reveals" that Dr. Robotnik will take the place of Andrew Ryan in Burial At Sea, and claims to own a ManBot waifu pillow. At minimum, he's serious about "I don't like the porn" but has no delusions that he can stop people. I wouldn't do more Elizabeth porn just to spite him (but I also wouldn't do less). If you do want to spite him, it's better to twist his "order" against him. Make porn of everyone else in the games - literally everyone. Booker+Comstock gay fucking, Lady Comstock zombie gangbang, Lutece twins twincest, Songbird tentacle rape, whatever else you can think of. Oh, and a tasteful and completely asexual render of Elizabeth. Send it to him with a note saying "Well, you didn't say any of these were off limits".
Way ahead of you.
Thu, 10 Oct 2013 02:30:44

Soulslayerzx

sure he may be a cool guy joking, hopefully that's how the general public will see it too. just a joke :DDDD no one will interfere with 3d porn from video games ;)))) that's hoping for the best
Thu, 10 Oct 2013 02:53:50

Anonymous

"Soulslayerzx" said ...
"DemonicLemon" said ...
"Soulslayerzx" said ...
this dude is a fuckin moron, he's like stawp it's like mah daughter and then he keeps on looking at bunch of liz porn. So he likes to look at his daughter nude i guess? LOL. what is he doing on the internet????
At this point we think what he said was a joke given the earlier things he said.
meh. i think he should've announced something in a more grateful tone like yea, there's some porn of liz on the internet and they do a good job. That way, public wouldnt have too much shit to say if he was fine with it too, like it's a game, get over it. Sure, this would be a smart sarcastic way if he admired the work of the liz porn animators here, but it's gonna bring a lot of shit to the brainwashed public sheep that will be like, people are making porn out of video game characters. damn fox news and america!!!! America is taking steps back while Japan is taking a great leap forward... Damn americans. Reason is i hope they dont do that new licensing crap they did with ff where their chars were protected from porn. :(
There's going to be fanart and porn of Final Fantasy 14 regardless. You don't even have to own the game to do it. If there is interest, a licensing agreement isn't going to hold people back. It just a matter of, if it isn't drawn art, how long will it take crackers to rip models from the game and put it through the internet. Actually I think there's is a similar example to this. I seem to recall the guys that created DOA hated that there was porn of it and asked people to stop. It didn't stop.
Thu, 10 Oct 2013 20:40:46

DOGE

"Gilgamesh of Uruk" said ...
"Ganonmaster" said ...
"Brother Antroz" said ...
How dare he not enjoy seeing porn of a character he and his company spent so much time perfecting... :roll:
He doesn't have to enjoy it. He just has to accept it. Asking people to stop is either a joke or a delusion.
If you read it in context, he's pretty clearly joking, since the sentence right before that was essentially "there will be porn DLC". In the same interview he "reveals" that Dr. Robotnik will take the place of Andrew Ryan in Burial At Sea, and claims to own a ManBot waifu pillow. At minimum, he's serious about "I don't like the porn" but has no delusions that he can stop people. I wouldn't do more Elizabeth porn just to spite him (but I also wouldn't do less). If you do want to spite him, it's better to twist his "order" against him. Make porn of everyone else in the games - literally everyone. Booker+Comstock gay fucking, Lady Comstock zombie gangbang, Lutece twins twincest, Songbird tentacle rape, whatever else you can think of. Oh, and a tasteful and completely asexual render of Elizabeth. Send it to him with a note saying "Well, you didn't say any of these were off limits".
Booker + Comstock.... "Go fuck yourself" now gets a whole new meaning. Also wouldn't it be an advanced form of masturbation?
Sat, 12 Oct 2013 22:15:44

FourtyNights

I fucking cracked that they used MY pose of her on the beginning of the topic!! :D "It's like coming across a picture of your daughter." Just, LOL. Gives me the creeps though, haha. http://twinstickgaming.com/2013/10/09/e ... vine-nsfw/
Sun, 13 Oct 2013 02:38:56

Rastifan

Well that is on Ken Levine, who ever he is. I don't think of daughters when I see nude Elizabeth. I think of hot chicks. So who is the pervert here Ken :P Had to leave a comment http://twinstickgaming.com/2013/10/09/e ... mment-3904
Sun, 13 Oct 2013 06:50:08

giantkrill

"Rastifan" said ...
Well that is on Ken Levine, who ever he is. I don't think of daughters when I see nude Elizabeth. I think of hot chicks. So who is the pervert here Ken :P Had to leave a comment http://twinstickgaming.com/2013/10/09/e ... mment-3904
Dude, Ken Levine is pretty much the guy who made bioshock infinite. (And its predecesors)
Sun, 13 Oct 2013 08:51:57

Timpossible

I'm not judging anyone who still does awesome elizabeth porn. You guys still rock. But I'll stopped. It doesn't feel right anymore for me. So yeah...no elizabeth porn anymore. Maybe I change my mind later, but...for now...nope.^^
Sun, 13 Oct 2013 10:02:14

Rastifan

"giantkrill" said ...
Dude, Ken Levine is pretty much the guy who made bioshock infinite. (And its predecesors)
Well that explains his whining.
Sun, 13 Oct 2013 17:24:25

DemonicLemon

I would admit if I carved a woman in my likeness because I wanted to have myself a daughter, I too would be irked when she becomes railed by every man in another universe.
Sun, 13 Oct 2013 17:45:23

Rastifan

"DemonicLemon" said ...
I would admit if I carved a woman in my likeness because I wanted to have myself a daughter, I too would be irked when she becomes railed by every man in another universe.
He didn't carved her after his would be daughter. He is fine with her boobs almost falling out of her dress. But a nude model is a bad thing for him. He is just demonstrating hypocritical tendencies.
Sun, 13 Oct 2013 23:03:10

Nins

Gotta wonder how he came across all of there images in the first place, if Reddit was his first encounter he really didn't have to look, right? <.<
Mon, 14 Oct 2013 07:51:35

Rastifan

"Nins" said ...
Gotta wonder how he came across all of there images in the first place, if Reddit was his first encounter he really didn't have to look, right? <.<
Game company people does this as much as everyone else. Looking for stuff made with their models outside the game in the privacy of their homes. And more so sexy stuff. They are no less human than the rest just because they work in Bethesda or Irrational Games. This is of course not something they as a big serious company will ever admit publicly. No one is going to tell me that Ken doesn't ogle other sexy game chicks. We are drawn to attractive female bodies. It is in our nature. I respect him due to his achievement's, but unless mr. Levin has resigned from humanity in general, his reaction is a hypocritical one. Also found it amusing that his irrational reaction to the use of a fictional game character also is the co-founder of Irrational Games :P
Mon, 14 Oct 2013 14:07:22

DemonicLemon

"Rastifan" said ...
He didn't carved her after his would be daughter. He is fine with her boobs almost falling out of her dress. But a nude model is a bad thing for him. He is just demonstrating hypocritical tendencies.
I think at one point in a woman's life, she'll show cleavage one point or another. It would be hypocritical if she was only wearing stipper tape or something, but what I see here isn't out of the ordinary with some dresses.
Mon, 14 Oct 2013 14:30:35

FantasticMrDix

Maybe I read it wrong but are you sure he said that he modeled Elizabeth after his would be daughter? I thought he said "It's like seeing your own daughter naked"
Mon, 14 Oct 2013 16:17:13

Pipedude

He meant it in the sense of the development of the character not the model. Irrational spent a long time trying to get the Elizabeth we know as a personality so after such a long investment in character development, Ken seems to be more or less a father figure to Elizabeth.
Mon, 14 Oct 2013 16:37:45

Nins

"Rastifan" said ...
"Nins" said ...
Gotta wonder how he came across all of there images in the first place, if Reddit was his first encounter he really didn't have to look, right? <.<
Game company people does this as much as everyone else. Looking for stuff made with their models outside the game in the privacy of their homes. And more so sexy stuff. They are no less human than the rest just because they work in Bethesda or Irrational Games. This is of course not something they as a big serious company will ever admit publicly. No one is going to tell me that Ken doesn't ogle other sexy game chicks. We are drawn to attractive female bodies. It is in our nature. I respect him due to his achievement's, but unless mr. Levin has resigned from humanity in general, his reaction is a hypocritical one. Also found it amusing that his irrational reaction to the use of a fictional game character also is the co-founder of Irrational Games :P
I was going more with that all of the articles I have seen, reddit was a big factor, and they from what I have seen have content filters. But I do see your point, many times I have been looking for images that should be safe and find porn, ups and downs of the net.
Mon, 14 Oct 2013 17:41:10

LawrenceKiller

It's just another way for him to get some attention...
Tue, 15 Oct 2013 16:18:45

HecRPD

"Ganonmaster" said ...
"Brother Antroz" said ...
How dare he not enjoy seeing porn of a character he and his company spent so much time perfecting... :roll:
He doesn't have to enjoy it. He just has to accept it. Asking people to stop is either a joke or a delusion.
It is his IP(Intellectual Property), if he wanted, he could shut this place down.
Tue, 15 Oct 2013 22:44:15

Gilgamesh of Uruk

"HecRPD" said ...
It is his IP(Intellectual Property), if he wanted, he could shut this place down.
First off, I'm pretty sure the publisher owns the rights, or maybe the studio, not Ken Levine personally. All he can do is complain. Second, while 2K or whoever the actual copyright owner is, could certainly try to shut us down (or at least take down any BSI related images), maybe even succeed, the law is not clear-cut on the matter. I actually leafed through all of 17 USC, the law relating to copyright in the US, and I did not see a single mention specifically of games, only text, sound recordings, audiovisual works, and software. In cases where we use the original models and textures, images made using them are potentially considered derivative works. However, the derivative work itself could potentially be copyrighted by the image creator himself, which would get hairy, particularly if the model has been substantially altered. A "rule" I've often seen bandied about is "if you own a copy of the game, you can download the models from it", but this actually doesn't seem to have any legal basis. It may be from a judicial ruling, but it more likely is just a good idea (if you paid for a copy of the game, they've made money off you, so they're less likely to go after you, and could even see your works as free advertising). Really, this is little different from just taking screenshots of the game. Some (eg. Nintendo) are now claiming that any recording of their games being played counts as a derivative work, thus entitling them to copyright, but this has not yet reached an actual court (they just convinced Youtube of it, who then started placing ads on such videos giving the profits to Nintendo). I think most courts would probably strike that down, at least for anything that is more than a simple recording of gameplay or cutscenes. But, it hasn't reached court yet, I am not a lawyer, and plenty of judges are stupid, so don't count on my guess of what a judge would do being right. In cases where the model has been made by scratch, copyright simply does not apply. Trademark potentially could if the character, setting or original work's name are a) mentioned and b) trademarked (a quick search of TESS did not reveal a trademark for Elizabeth Comstock, and Elizabeth alone would be too generic). Nominative fair use does cover the models being released - you can say "this is Elizabeth(tm) from 2K Games(tm) BioShock Infinite(tm)" - but this wouldn't work for fan-fiction or comics mentioning trademarked things by name. Also, while it's not the only thing a judge would look at in cases like this, being not-for-profit definitely helps. For sure, don't start putting models that aren't 100% original, and not duplicating any characters, in the shop. Even putting ads on the site would be a bad move for copyright protection.
Sat, 19 Oct 2013 01:31:54

ashleyco

He doesn't have to enjoy it. He just has to accept it. Asking people to stop is either a joke or a delusion.
Mon, 21 Oct 2013 21:03:49

ScytheRexx

I don't think he ever asked anyone to stop. He does not like it, but even he knows attempting to prevent it would be a futile gesture. What I find kind of odd is he sees her sort of like his "daughter" which is all fine and good, but to me that conveys he wants to hold onto her "innocence", which is weird to me since he tainted that half way through the game (thus why she cut off the ponytail and got the bob haircut) and tainted it further with that 6 months of mental, physical, and psychological torture the story put her through. Anyways, my two cents.
Mon, 21 Oct 2013 21:11:49

HuggyBear

"ScytheRexx" said ...
I don't think he ever asked anyone to stop. He does not like it, but even he knows attempting to prevent it would be a futile gesture.
Nope, that's exactly what he said: "Seriously, whoever is doing the Elizabeth porn on deviantart, please stop it," Levine said. "You're killing me. Source No sweat off my back though. It's widely recognized around game dev circles that Levine is a colossal douche. :lol:
Mon, 21 Oct 2013 22:40:35

Brother Antroz

You guys are behaving like a bunch of bronies over this. Someone doesn't like the same things we do? Pound 'em into the dirt; acceptance and tolerance be damned! Guy spends months if not years working on the game and the character in particular; making her talk, think, behave, lookand act as much like an actual damn human being as possible; but doesn't like people reducing her to the lowest common denominator? Fuck him and everything he stands for! Yes he could've phrased it better, but so could every single one of you, and I haven't seen anyone jump down anyone else's throat for the much much worse things they've said.
Tue, 22 Oct 2013 00:55:01

Bilge Rat 16

"Brother Antroz" said ...
You guys are behaving like a bunch of bronies over this. Someone doesn't like the same things we do? Pound 'em into the dirt; acceptance and tolerance be damned! Guy spends months if not years working on the game and the character in particular; making her talk, think, behave, lookand act as much like an actual damn human being as possible; but doesn't like people reducing her to the lowest common denominator? Fuck him and everything he stands for!
If anything I think what most people here said is that HE should be more tolerant. If you agree with him that making smut of her is degrading and offensive to the character then why are you even here? The guy's spent months of his life on that character because, well, that's his job. If he really developed such an emotional connection to her creation that he feels bad seeing porn of her (which I don't believe) he has probably got some issues to worry about (and yes, this comes from someone who makes said crappy 3d porn). And if he truly didn't want that to happen, then maybe he shouldn't have let "his" character be so oversexualized. Because they haven't made Elizabeth simply pretty, she's designed to be more than sexy. Big rack (which iirc was even bigger in the beta) revealing corset, choker and short hair, you'll agree that it's quite a jump from the librarian outfit, and something tells me the reason was not to help establish a platonic emotional connection with her. Was that really necessary? Did it bring more depth to the game? I don't think so. Big fucking surprise that someone took it to the next level. As a somewhat related note, I've never played Bioshock, nor I intend to. Why? Because in the first fucking minute of the trailer you see a guy carve through another guy's face in "self defense". Then you see how cool it is to mutilate, eviscerate, shoot, crush, snap necks, burn people alive and whatnot. I can't stand gore, especially when it's so over the top. Even the main characters, as I heard, have had or will have some pretty fucked up life story-wise, with torture, cold blood murder and probably worse. It may be a game with an interesting story, I dunno and I'm not interested. But it's also a game that is designed with gore & boobs being the main selling points (admittedly, a lot more gore than boobs) where human life isn't worth two shits and inflicting horrible and gruesome deaths to random goons is not only allowed, it's supposed to be fun, rewarding, and the only way to play. So, also with that in mind and with all due respect, fuck that guy if he thinks he can go moral crusade on me, or anyone else. That said, I still think he wasn't serious, and made that comment either to get attention for the DLC (wouldn't be surprising give this is the kind of stuff gaming "journalism" lives off these days) or was just kidding.
Tue, 22 Oct 2013 01:56:14

McKraken

Jesus christ, just let this die.
Tue, 22 Oct 2013 05:39:18

Rastifan

Easy now. Ken got hammered because he said something stupid. Not because he has an emotional tie to a bunch of binary numbers. Fan boys and fan girls has that all the time. If he dies a little inside every time he sees Elizabeth porn, that means he is looking for it. Many did not know it even excited before he started complaining. And the daughter part of his outburst. That simply begs reaction. As I said. He said something stupid and on top of that tried to tell people what they shouldn't do on the net at the same time. Not a good idea if you want to be taken seriously.
Tue, 22 Oct 2013 08:16:28

yagskie

"Rastifan" said ...
Easy now. Ken got hammered because he said something stupid. Not because he has an emotional tie to a bunch of binary numbers. Fan boys and fan girls has that all the time. If he dies a little inside every time he sees Elizabeth porn, that means he is looking for it. Many did not know it even excited before he started complaining. And the daughter part of his outburst. That simply begs reaction. As I said. He said something stupid and on top of that tried to tell people what they shouldn't do on the net at the same time. Not a good idea if you want to be taken seriously.
it's just his own way of reverse psychologizing these animators (us) to produce some more.
Tue, 29 Oct 2013 16:39:39

Soraku Fett

He does realize that by saying no, he's only forcing us to do it MORE. Right? It's human nature to go against what an authority asks of you, so we're going to continue this heavily.
Fri, 01 Nov 2013 23:34:19

Soulslayerzx

Yea. Serious or not, rule34 remains alive and so do all video games or animes that are created. Becoming a celebrity, politician, or any famous sort of entity is bound to get you made fun of by society because we are all sadistic like that. Good luck to anyone making a video game that was shaped off of their family members and not seeing any porn of them created on the internet. lmfao Pretty sure he's joking, but he could've just been like"That shit's my jam :D" HAHAHA jk.
Sat, 02 Nov 2013 00:32:41

Disorder

My only thought on this whole thing was: "How the heck did he even find out about Elizabeth porn if he did not search for it?" I mean, one has to search for the stuff we do, right? You don't find this stuff by accident.
Sat, 02 Nov 2013 01:36:37

Anonymous

Knowing Ken Levine, who is known for making really bad jokes that most people don't get, he was probably just joking.